IBA - Illinois Bankers Association

IBA's 125th Anniversary

You are a part of our history!

In honor of our 125th Anniversary, and in honor of all Illinois banks, the IBA has secured sponsorship, in perpetuity, of a collection of 14 Illinois pre-Civil War Bank Notes in the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum's archives. If you would like to tour the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum, please let us know - because of our sponsorship, we have 10 daily passes to the Museum, and we are offering them to our IBA members and their families. Connect with the IBA to secure tickets! Additionally, if you would like to make a contribution to our permanent History of Illinois Banking exhibit to be located in our Springfield office, please complete the pledge form below.

DONORS (to date)
MB Financial Bank The Northern Trust
Midland States Bank Michael and Laura Steelman
Larry Beaty
Tomorrow's Future Today Scholarship
American Community Bank & Trust State Bank of Bement
First Mid-Illinois Bank & Trust Town and Country Bank
Forest Park National Bank and Trust Co.    Linda and Bernie Koch
LincolnWay Community Bank Charles (Chuck) and Joy Waterman
Bradford National Bank Tom and Beth Chamberlain
Community Bank of Oak Park River Forest Mary and Greg Curl
First National Bank of Steeleville Susan Dubs
Grundy Bank Scott and Shawn Grigsby
Home State Bank, N.A. Debbie and Bob Jemison
Lisle Savings Bank Pam and Kevin Macha
Raritan State Bank Callan, Jessica, Hagen and Lillian Stapleton
Security Savings Bank Bruce Taylor
The State Bank Group Robert R. Wallace


Anniversary Facts

  • Nov. 5, 1891 - 62 bankers gathered to organize the association - three of those original member banks are still in existence under their original charters and names and still very active and proud members of the IBA: First National Bank in Beardstown, First National Bank in Litchfield and Havana National Bank.
  • A huge shout out to the IBA's very first chairman, Thomas S. Ridgway. He and his partner founded the First National Bank of Shawneetown in 1865, and he became president of the bank in 1879. In 1874, he received the Republican nomination and was elected Illinois State Treasurer. After just the first decade, membership in the IBA had reached 866, making it the largest state banking association in the United States.
  • IBA's ceremonial chairman's pin was presented to the Illinois Bankers Association by then Chairman W. P. Halliday in 1895! Now more than 120 years old, it is passed on to each incoming IBA Chairman at the Annual Conference. In June of 2016, the pin will be handed down from IBA Chairman Darrell Jackson to incoming Chairman Micah Bartlett, Town and Country Bank.
  • Way back in 1911, IBA's President was Benjamin Franklin Harris II -- "BF" to his friends. BF is credited with saving rural banking from becoming largely federalized, and America enjoys a competitive and robust rural banking system today thanks to his efforts. He was responsible for assuring a future for the agricultural banking industry by defending his industry, by appealing to the banking industry to fight for its future and inspiring thousands of bankers to get involved in what he called the "Banker-Farmer Movement."
  • Financial institutions in existence in 1891
  • Past Chairmen